Kiyo-approved.

Last year, “A Marshmallow World” was pretty much the only song in my head for the entire Christmas season. This year it will have some company, as I have just received the Mark Steyn/Jessica Martin Christmas cd, Gingerbread and Eggnog. My daughter and I listened to it in the car on the way to the gym, and she became an instant fan. She loved “Marshmallow World”, and now she is all about the Gingerbread. After the gym, she begged me for some more of that “fun Christmas cd.”

If you don’t think that an endorsement from a 5 year old carries much weight, understand that this kid has loved Sinatra since she was born, sings along with Billie and Ella, and has much better taste in music than I do. My sister laughs that Kiyo “sings like an old lady,” but the joke’s on her, since the kid has a three octave range and fantastic control. Needless to say, I trust Kiyo’s judgment, and honestly, you should too.

And then there’s the kicky fun of being able to listen to your favorite Columnist to the World singing holiday music. I mean, it’s not like Jonah Goldberg’s got anything out there. Holiday cds are the new, chic thing for columnists. I’m expecting one from Krauthammer soon.

PS–If you want a direct quote, she said: “I love this cd. He looks like Santa Claus.” (She was examining the cd cover. I explained that he was not, in fact, Santa. Looking at me like I was mentally challenged, she replied, “He has a beard.”)

8 responses to “Kiyo-approved.

  1. April, I was just making a (lame) joke on my seething jealousy.

    No, Steyn knows what he’s doing. He links you because you’re a fun read. What better way to rib his buddies who no doubt have given him a little ribbing as well.

  2. Mmmm Cathy. Oatmeal-cranberry cookies sound amazing. I need to bake more. I’m the worst.

  3. I’m sorry, Nick. I’ll remedy that soon. I’m the worst at blog maintenance. I’ve never updated my links, even though I said I would.

    I’m lazy.

  4. Is there anything better than Christmas-anticipation with a little one?

    A tip for the busy mom: Did you know you can freeze sugar-cookie dough until you have time (and an interested little one) to do the cutting-out? (I only mention this because I just found out, although I have baked and decorated at different times.)

    Plus, I just had oatmeal cookies with cranberries instead of raisins. YUM. (And prettier.)

  5. Re getting Corner-ed — Sweet!

  6. My word, April, Steve is true to his word! Mark Steyn linked to you in his comment at 11/27 11:52 AM

    Re: Avoid the Malls [Mark Steyn]

    Since John is plugging his novel shamelessly this Black Friday, I thought I’d plug my own Yuletide offering more obliquely. Jonah, I think this lady is issuing you a challenge:

    And then there’s the kicky fun of being able to listen to your favorite Columnist to the World singing holiday music. I mean, it’s not like Jonah Goldberg’s got anything out there. Holiday cds are the new, chic thing for columnists. I’m expecting one from Krauthammer soon.

    No linky love for my blog though. What’s up with that?

  7. You have made it to The Corner. Let me be the first to congratulate you!

  8. Just the thought of the ‘happy warrior’ singing about ginger bread men despite all the stuff going on is in itself, rather cheery.

    I think I’ll buy myself a copy… for that reason alone.

Your Turn!

